Ten-year anniversary for Hiwinui Heke Māori Pharmacy Scholarships

Media release

PHARMAC and Ngā Kaitiaki o Te Puna Rongoā ō Āotearoa (Māori Pharmacists Association) recently celebrated the 10th year of the Hiwinui Heke, Māori Pharmacy Student Scholarships in Rotorua.

tene Andrews, Kaiwhakahaere Whakarata Māori at PHARMAC, says the Hiwinui Heke scholarship was established in 2007 to be offered to Māori Pharmacy Students studying at either Auckland, or Otago University Pharmacy Schools.

“The scholarship is named after our first Māori pharmacist Hiwinui Heke-Te Arawa-Ngai Te Rangi, Uenukukopako.  Kaumatua Hiwinui Heke contributed significantly to Māori, Rotorua and the Ōwhata marae community as an influential leader and positive Māori health advocate. This scholarship supports the education of Māori pharmacy students studying towards completing their Bachelor of Pharmacy degree.  It promotes pharmacy as a viable and vibrant career for young Māori,” says Mr Andrews.

“Over the ten-year history of the scholarship, 31 Māori pharmacy students have received Hiwinui Heke scholarship support. This marks a long-term and on-going commitment by PHARMAC to helping develop the Māori health workforce.”

Three pharmacy students were awarded a 2017 Hiwinui Heke scholarship, based on above average academic results, participation in tikanga Māori activities, and an essay about a chosen kaupapa.

Scholarship recipient, Anthony Raumati (Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngai Tahu, Matawhaiti), says he would love to contribute his learning to Māori services, and serve the next generation of Māori.

“I want to be a role model for young Māori to imitate and continue the service we provide,” says Mr Raumati.

Anja Mulder (Tainui, Ngāti Whāehākia), who was also awarded a scholarship, says many of her whānau find accessing healthcare challenging.

“I often get calls from my parents or grandparents wanting to know information about their medicines, or what to do with a particular illness. I know that in the future I will be able to use the skills I have learned at pharmacy to help my whānau and other Māori people achieve better health,” says Ms Mulder.

Recipients of the 2017 Hiwinui Heke Māori Pharmacy Student Scholarship each received $3,000.

2017 Hiwinui Heke Māori Pharmacy Student Scholarship recipients

  • Anthony Raumati, 2nd year (2017) University of Otago
  • Anja Mulder, 4th year (2017) University of Otago
  • Ellery Fruean, 4th year (2017) University of Otago