New leadership, new members for PHARMAC consumer committee

Media release

Wellington smoking cessation advocate Shane Bradbrook has been appointed chair of PHARMAC’s Consumer Advisory Committee.

Shane Bradbrook, a member of the Committee since 2010, will succeed Kate Russell when her term on the Committee ends on 31 July.

The Consumer Advisory Committee is a statutory advisory committee to PHARMAC, with members appointed by the PHARMAC Board.

Chief Executive Steffan Crausaz says the transition to the new Chair will be among several changes in the Committee’s membership over coming months.

As well as Shane Bradbrook’s appointment, Auckland mental health consultant David Lui has been appointed as Deputy Chair.

And four new members have been appointed to fill vacancies that become available this year and next. The incoming members are:

  • Stephanie Clare – acting Chief Executive of Parkinsons NZ, Wellington (appointed from 1 August 2015)
  • Francesca Holloway – Northern Regional manager of Arthritis NZ, Auckland (appointed from 1 August 2016)
  • Adrienne von Tunzelmann – Board member of Age Concern NZ and Osteoporosis NZ, Tauranga (appointed from 1 August 2015)
  • Neil Woodhams – vice-president of Multiple Sclerosis NZ (appointed from 1 August 2015).

“PHARMAC is delighted to have such high quality people being appointed to the Consumer Advisory Committee,” says Steffan Crausaz. “They will bring new perspectives to the already diverse and highly experienced people on the Committee.”

“The new people appointed will continue to provide PHARMAC with high quality advice on its consumer engagement.”

Steffan Crausaz paid tribute to the outgoing chair Kate Russell, and to Maurice Gianotti of Taupo, whose terms end on 31 July after both served on the Committee for six years.

“The Committee has encouraged PHARMAC to engage with the community and this was seen in the two rounds of Community Forums that were held around the country,” he says.  “That has helped to build stronger relationships between PHARMAC and consumer groups.”

“PHARMAC is now better placed for ongoing discussions with consumers and I am confident that we will be able to continue to show progress in the way we seek and obtain input from consumers.”

The members of the Committee (as from 1 August 2015):

Shane Bradbrook (Chair, Wellington), David Lui (Deputy Chair, Auckland), Stephanie Clare (Wellington), Key Frost (Invercargill), Barbara Greer (Hokitika), Katerina Pihera-Ridge (Rotorua), Tuiloma Lina Samu (Auckland), Adrienne von Tunzelmann (Tauranga), Neil Woodhams (Auckland).

Effective from 1 August 2016: Francesca Holloway (Auckland).

Current membership and details on the committee.

Brief biographies of incoming members

Stephanie Clare

Stephanie Clare is the Acting Chief Executive and National Clinical Leader of Parkinson’s New Zealand. Her nomination was supported by Parkinson’s New Zealand.

A registered nurse, Stephanie is a member of and convenes the Primary Health Care Nurses Reference Group committee within Capital & Coast DHB.

In addition to her knowledge and experience of Parkinson’s disease, Stephanie Clare has insights into and networks with other organisations representing the interests of patients with neurological disorders through the Dementia Alliance. She also has previous experience working as an educator for Arthritis NZ, and leading Clinical and Professional Education for Presbyterian Support Central.

Adrienne von Tunzelmann

Adrienne von Tunzelmann is a Board member of Osteoporosis New Zealand, and a Board member of Age Concern New Zealand. Adrienne also holds a number of voluntary positions in the not-for-profit sector including on the Tauranga Community Housing Trust, and as a council member of Te Whare Wananga O Awanuiarangi, a Whakatane-based tertiary education provider.

Adrienne has extensive knowledge and experience of the Government sector, obtained through her career as a senior public servant, and more latterly in governance roles. Adrienne was an appointed member of the PHARMAC Board between 2003 and 2010.

Adrienne von Tunzelmann’s nomination is supported by both Age Concern NZ and Osteoporosis NZ.

Neil Woodhams

Neil Woodhams is the vice-president of Multiple Sclerosis New Zealand and the President of the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Auckland. His nomination is supported by Multiple Sclerosis NZ.

Neil has an extensive career in senior healthcare management at a governance and senior management level. He is a former senior executive of the Midland RHA and was Chief Operating Officer of Auckland DHB 2000-2002. He has also held many positions in management and governance in community and not-for-profit organisations, including Māori and Pacific organisations.

Neil’s core interest area is in multiple sclerosis and people with disabilities, both as an advocate and as a carer.

Francesca Holloway

Francesca Holloway is the northern regional manager for Arthritis New Zealand. Her nomination is supported by Arthritis NZ. She has extensive experience as a consumer advocate working in the voluntary and not for profit sector.

Francesca Holloway’s role with Arthritis NZ involves training consumers in how to advocate to Government and other agencies. This requires a deep understanding of the health and disability sector, extensive networks and involves working with people with a range of long-term conditions, including people with disability. 

For more information: 021 863 342