Hiwinui Heke Māori pharmacy awards

Stories Rērere Kōrero

Kaimahi from the Māori Directorate and the Equity and Engagement Directorate attended the Hiwinui Heke Māori pharmacy awards earlier this month at Owhata Marae in Rotorua.

Nick Workman, Erena Ikimau, and Kerian Draper.

The awards are named after Hiwinui Heke, the first ever Māori Pharmacist.

Te Pātaka Whaioranga, in collaboration with Ngā Kaitiaki o Te Puna Rongoā ō Āotearoa (Māori Pharmacists Association), created the Hiwinui Heke Māori Pharmacy Scholarship to tautoko tauira Māori studying toward their Bachelor of Pharmacy degree, and to promote pharmacy as a career.

The establishment of the Hiwinui Heke scholarships in 2008 was a tribute to Matua Hiwinui’s inspiration and dedication to pharmacy. These scholarships are awarded annually to outstanding Māori pharmacy students.

In 2023 there were three recipients - Kerian Draper, Erena Ikimau and Nick Workman. Nick recently completed a TupuToa internship at Te Pātaka Whaioranga in the Equity and Engagement Directorate.

This story is part of the Rērere Kōrero 

The Rērere Kōrero will keep you informed on how Te Pātaka Whaioranga – Pharmac is supporting whānau Māori to achieve their best health and wellbeing through access to medicines and medical devices.