Leadership, membership changes for PHARMAC consumer advisory committee

Media release

PHARMAC’s Consumer Advisory Committee has new leadership and new members.

The Consumer Advisory Committee (CAC) is made up of members of the community who provide input to PHARMAC from a consumer or patient perspective.

David Lui of Auckland, appointed as the Pacific representative in 2014, becomes the Committee’s chair from 1 August. David is Health Promotion Advisor for Plunket, and succeeds Shane Kawenata Bradbrook as the CAC Chair.

PHARMAC is also welcoming three new members to the Committee:

  • Te Ropu Poa (Ngāpuhi) is the General Manager of Te Hau Ora O Ngāpuhi, a Far North Māori health service provider and a subsidiary of Te Rūnanga-A-Iwi O Ngāpuhi, based in Kaikohe.
  • Lisa Lawrence (Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Ruapani) is Kaiwhakahaere (Manager) of the Motueka Family Service Centre, providing health and social services to Māori and the wider community. She is also on the Board of the Nelson Bays PHO and chair of Te Tumu Whakaora, providing governance links between Māori stakeholders across Nelson Bays.
  • Francesca Holloway is Northern Regional manager of Arthritis NZ, Auckland.

“I am confident that with new members and leadership, the Committee will continue to challenge PHARMAC to make progress in the way we engage with the community,” says PHARMAC Chief Executive Steffan Crausaz.

”I would also like to  acknowledge the contribution of the outgoing members, Katerina Pihera (Rotorua), Barbara Greer (Hokitika) and current chair Shane Kawenata Bradbrook. Their contributions and leadership have helped to guide the Committee’s influence on PHARMAC’s activity, in particular in the way it interacts with the community.”

Steffan Crausaz says the Committee helped steer the way PHARMAC developed its new decision-making framework, the Factors for Consideration. This year, CAC members are continuing that leadership with David Lui, Tuiloma Lina Samu and Key Frost guiding PHARMAC’s consultation around a draft Pacific Responsiveness Strategy.

“The Consumer Advisory Committee is one of the ways in which PHARMAC gets insights into community views, and maintains links to communities,” he says. “If PHARMAC is to continue to make good decisions, these need to reflect community views. The Committee has an important role to ensure PHARMAC is talking to the right people and seeking their input.”

“In turn PHARMAC needs the right processes, approaches and culture to listen to and understand views – something the CAC helps us to develop.”

“I am delighted with the calibre of the new people that have been appointed and welcome their commitment to the work ahead.”

CAC membership (as at 1 August 2016):

  • David Lui (chair, Auckland)
  • Stephanie Clare (Wellington)
  • Francesca Holloway (Auckland)
  • Key Frost (Invercargill)
  • Lisa Lawrence (Nelson)
  • Te Ropu Poa (Kaikohe)
  • Tuiloma Lina Samu (Auckland)
  • Adrienne von Tunzelmann (Tauranga)
  • Neil Woodhams (Auckland).