Advisory groups

Advisory groups give targeted advice on specific issues. 

On this page

Pharmac works with groups of experts to provide advice and recommendations, as needed. The Groups may be set up for varying lengths of time, depending on the type of activity Pharmac is seeking advice on.

Advisory groups meet as required to discuss issues referred to them by Pharmac. Records of the meetings are published on this website.

COVID-19 Treatments Advisory Group (ad hoc)

  • Dr Jane Thomas – Paediatric Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine Specialist (Chair PTAC)
  • Dr Brian Anderson – Anaesthesia & Intensive Care Medicine Specialist (PTAC member)
  • Dr Kerry Benson-Cooper – Intensivist
  • Dr Tim Cutfield – Infectious diseases physician
  • Eamon Dufy – Antimicrobial pharmacist
  • Dr Gillian Hood – Intensivist 
  • Dr Robyn Manuel – (PTAC member)
  • Dr Graham Mills – Infectious Diseases physician
  • Professor Stephen Munn – Transplant surgeon (PTAC member)
  • Associate Professor Marius Rademaker – Dermatologist
  • Dr Nigel Raymond – Infectious diseases physician
  • Dr Justin Travers – Respiratory specialist

Interventional Cardiology Advisory Group (ICAG)

  • Dr Scott Harding (Chair) – Interventional Cardiologist
  • Dr Gerry Wilkins – Interventional Cardiologist
  • Dr Rajesh Nair – Structural Interventional Cardiologist
  • Dr Seif El-Jack – Interventional Cardiologist
  • Dr Mark Webster – Structural Interventionalist
  • Dr Barry Kneale – Interventional Cardiologist
  • Mrs Sandi Graham – Cardiology Interventional Nurse 

Critical Care Advisory Group (ad hoc)

Group formed to advise Pharmac for the COVID-19 pandemic response.

  • Prof Brian Anderson (Chair) – Anaesthetics
  • Dr Andrew Stapleton – Intensive Care
  • Dr Andrew Brainard - Emergency Medicine Consultant
  • Annie Egan – Intensive Care Pharmacy
  • Dr Bruce King – Internal Medicine
  • Dr Craig Carr – Intensive Care/Clinical Pharmacology
  • Dr Gillian Bishop – Intensive Care
  • Dr Greg Frazer – Respiratory Medicine
  • Dr Matthew Drake – Anaesthetics
  • Dr Seton Henderson – Intensive Care
  • Steve Kirby – Critical Care Nursing 

Respiratory Procurement Advisory Group

  • Dr Justin Travers (Chair) – Respiratory Physician
  • Dr Andrew Corin – General Practitioner
  • Betty Poot – Respiratory Specialist
  • Ann Wheat – Asthma Nurse Educator/Nurse Manager
  • Ann Nguyen – Hospital Pharmacist
  • Teresa Chalecki – Nurse Manager
  • Dr Phil Weeks – General Practitioner
  • Noelene Rapana – Nurse
  • Joanna Turner – Pharmacist

Strategic Medical Devices Advisory Group (SMDAG)

  • Samantha Davenport, Waikato (Representative for Midwifery Leaders) 
  • Jaco Denton, Hauora a Toi Bay of Plenty (Representative for Chief Information Officers) 
  • Simon Donlevy, Southern (Representative for Chief Operational Officers)
  • Horst Fischer, Capital & Coast (Representative for procurement professionals)
  • Craig Green, Tairāwhiti (Representative for Chief Financial Officers)
  • Ross Kennedy, Canterbury (Representative for Clinical practice committee) 
  • Jayne Ladbrook, Southern (Representative for procurement professionals) 
  • Sanjoy Nand, Counties Manukau (Representative for Allied Health, Scientific & Technical)
  • Jocelyn Peach (Representative for Directors of Nursing) 
  • Robin Whyman, Hawke’s Bay (Representative for Chief Medical Officers) 
  • Tim Wood, Auckland & Waitematā (Representative for General Managers Planning & Funding 

Wound Care Advisory Group (not currently active)

  • Julie Betts (Chair) – Wound Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Alan Shackleton – Nurse Consultant - Wound Care Service Clinical Lead
  • Amanda Pagan – Wound Care Specialist Nurse
  • Catherine Hammond – Wound Care Clinical Nurse Specialist & Educator
  • Emil Schmidt – Nurse Specialist Wound Care
  • Jonathan Heather – Plastic Surgeon
  • Susie Wendelborn – Specialty Clinical Nurse Wound Care
  • Wendy Mildon – Clinical Nurse Specialist Wound Care